VOL 94 (2013) FROM ASC CLOSE UP – BEST PROFESSIONAL ADVICE RECAP

ASC Logo smallSIDE

From ASC CLOSE UP american-cinematographer-logo Vol 94(2013)

What’s The Best Professional Advice you’ve received?

NEWTON THOMAS SIEGEL, ASC

Find a way to keep shooting, no matter what. That is how I have learned and how I have grown.

STEPHEN GOLDBLATT, ASC,BSC

My gaffer in England, Martin Evans,advised me to say nothing during the first three weeks of production,to just watch and listen. I wish I had followed his advice more closely.

RUSSELL CARPENTER, ASC

‘Every Producer,every lab,every equipment house and every crewmember(from Director to caterer) is your family.’

CHRISTHOPHER BAFFA, ASC

‘Lead through respect,not intimidation.’ Words of wisdom from Dad.

PAUL MAIBAUM, ASC

‘All one really has in this business is one’s reputation as someone who can be trusted’

SHELLY JOHNSON, ASC

‘Learn from your mistakes,not your successes’

DON BURGESS, ASC

‘Spend less than you make’

STUART DRYBURGH, ASC, NZCS

‘Using Pentax spot meter,John Toon Taught me the relationship  between incident and spot readings. I have used this method of exposure calculation ever since’

RON FORTUNATO, ASC

‘We’re all replaceable’

STEVE GAINER, ASC

‘Always set the people you’re working with know if you are unsure about something . it’s much better than explaining  why a mistake was made’

SEAMUS McGRAVEY , ASC, BSC

‘Cinematography is 10 Percent cinematography and 90 percent bladder control’

MICHAEL SLOVIS, ASC

‘Remain Positive.’ It’s harder than you think.

To Be Continued… –つづく…

Leave a comment