VOL 93 (2012) FROM ASC CLOSE UP – BEST PROFESSIONAL ADVICE RECAP

 

ASC Logo smallSIDE

From ASC CLOSE UP american-cinematographer-logo Vol 93(2012)

What’s The Best Professional Advice you’ve received?

RODRIGO PRIETO, ASC, AMC

On my first day on my first job as a PA, the production manager was late, and a grip said, ‘ it is disrespectful to be late on a shoot day.’ That made a big impression on me.

ROBERTO SCHAEFER, ASC, AIC

Listen to your gut instinct and believe in it. And Remember that the craft-service person on this job might be producer on the next.

JONATHAN TAYLOR, ASC

Stay calm, listen, observe and lead by example.

ALAR KIVILO, ASC, CSC

Don’t try to be someone you are not.

DARIUS KHONDJI , ASC, AFC

1)Learn how to listen; 2)Choose one strong idea per film; and 3 ) Really understand your motivations, why you do something and not something else, and the direction you take in your work.

SAM NICHOLSON, ASC

The film business is like a prizefight;it’s not how many times you get knocked down that counts, it’s how many times you get up and go again.

PETER LYONS COLLISTER, ASC

Treat everyone on a set as a human being . Learn everyone’s name, and don’t abuse any perceived power. I’ve witnessed such bad behavior by megalomaniacal  producers, directors, actors and , yes, cinematographers.Even in the stress of your 18 hour day, remember that PA has worked 23 hours already.

DAVID BOYD, ASC

Michael Chapman told me that if I didn’t want to shoot a project, I should just double my rate— That way I could be happy doing it. I’ve never tried it,but he made me laugh.

JOHN NEWBY, ASC

Know what you want to see in the shot before you plan logistics.

ROBERT PRIMES, ASC

After hearing complaints from an actor that I was putting too much light in his eyes, an executive producer called me into his office to remind me that I could be fired and he could be fired, but the actor could not be fired.It was a great lesson in political reality.

PETER DEMING, ASC

From George Folsey Sr. :’ Whenever you go in to production, eat a good breakfast and sit down whenever you can.’ Good Advice.

JERZY ZIELINSKI, ASC, PSC

Don’t let yourself become too obsessed with technology. Find a balance with your creativity.

Leave a Reply

