SINCE VOL. 85 ASC CLOSE UP – BEST PROFESSIONAL ADVICE RECAP

ASC Logo smallSIDE

From ASC CLOSE UP american-cinematographer-logo Vol 85(2004) 

What’s The Best Professional Advice you’ve received?

ROY H.WAGNER , ASC

It Was Actually given by Ansel Adams.He Suggested that I previsualize in my head what I wanted an Image to look like and then determine what I needed technically to achieve that.That one piece of advice is the basic principle that has allowed me to be considered a very fast cinematographer

AMY VINCENT , ASC

I was Working as an assistant for Bob Richardson ,ASC, and he came to see my AFI Thesis Film.The Next day ,on set, he announced to everyone that it was my last day working for him.Then he told me that my lighting should never get too complicated and he pushed me out the door!

BILL DILL , ASC

Look at the big picture,and ask yourself, “What Made me want ot shoot this movie in the first place?” Don’t let your role sink into mere execution.Every Choice should have a specific,identifiable,underlying philosophical basis in the story.However , be careful with this.As soon as the basis becomes apparent to the audience ,you’ve moved into their consciousness.Our work has its greatest effect on the unconscious emotional involvement the audience has with the movie. The way I put this to my students is , ” Never let your metaphor become a metafive”

GEORGE SPIRO DIBE , ASC

I never forgot Jimmy Wong  Howe telling me , ‘Don’t screw with your negative’. He did not believe in putting a diffusion glass that cost a few dollars over a lens that had cost thousands.He also said, ‘We never make mistakes’.

ROBERT F. LIU , ASC

James Wong Howe told me once that no one can make every scene a masterpiece,but if you can make one scene or one shot outstanding within the whole picture,you have achieved uniqueness in your work with a trademark.

ANDY LASZLO , ASC

Learn what’s important to put up a fight for,and know when to say no

RON GARCIA , ASC

From Alfred Hitchcock : ” Stay out of Jail

OWEN ROIZMAN , ASC

Pay Attention and follow you Heart.That came from me.

DARYN OKADA, ASC

Trust your eye and not the light meter

CURTIS CLARK , ASC

Years Ago,Allen Daviau advised me to include commercials in my work as a  cinematographer.This is was great advice,and I have followed it

MICHAEL GOI , ASC

Always tell the truth.Say what you really believe.Telling people what you think they want to hear doesn’t you or them.Also,always photograph your lead actress like she’s your lover,but don’t date her.

RICHARD KLINE , ASC

From Harry Stradling: Make Sure that somewhere in each frame there is a proper exposure!

To Be Continued… –つづく…

 

Leave a comment