VOL 86(2005) FROM ASC CLOSE UP-BEST PROFESSIONAL ADVICE RECAP

ASC Logo smallSIDE

From ASC CLOSE UP american-cinematographer-logo Vol 86(2005)

What’s The Best Professional Advice you’ve received?

GERALD PENNY FINNERMAN , ASC

Harry Stardling Said to me ,”Make Everyone on the set like you.The Rest will be easy for you.Remember that.”

TONY ASKINS , ASC

Philip Lathrop said “Always be on time,dress nicely,leave your ego home,treat everyone equally and with respect,and always be positive,no matter how hard it gets”

STEPHEN LIGHTHILL , ASC

Experienced filmmakers always reminded me to wear comfortable shoes while shooting.They were right, and they inspired in me a lifelong love of good shoes

ISIDORE MANKOFSKY , ASC

Be bold, and take chances-Advice I have not always followed,much to my regret. Also,following your intuition is usually the smart thing to do.

RUSS ALSOBROOK , ASC

“Tell the story and make your stars look great.”

JON FAUER , ASC

“The only reason to be late for a call is being dead.” This was drilled in to me by Mel London or Freddie Young, BSC

DON McCUAIG , ASC

While shooting newsreel for the Canadian Broadcast Corporation , producer Allan Clapp told me I should analyze every frame of film or videotape I shot.It has been tremendous help .Also ,Woody Omens, ASC told us at Panavision workshop that it was important to examine laserdisc,freeze a perfect frame, and dissect the lighting.What a Great gift.Other important advice was three words: “Prep,Prep,Prep”

LEVIE ISAACKS , ASC

I Was told that Hollywood was a work-ethic town:do the work the very best you can and that will count the most.I have found it to be true.

DENIS LENOIR , ASC

“But Denis,This is flat! That was said by corporate-movie director(and former cinematographer) Georges Pessis on my first day with him,after I had lit part of a Nestlè factory with a few Mini-Brutes and Redheads.It just blew my mind:light could be flat and therefore also not flat”

RICHARD EDLUND , ASC

Don’t Look Back : Bob Dylan

HENNER HOFMANN , ASC

Gabriel Figueroa, AMC told me one day, “Your Negative needs to look like an avocado skin, not like a light onion skin.” I found that to be exquisite advice for both cinematographers and chefs.

RALPH WOOLSEY , ASC

“Never Look Back.”- Karl Freund

To Be Continued… –つづく…

 

Leave a comment