VOL 87 ( 2006 ) FROM ASC CLOSE UP-BEST PROFESSIONAL ADVICE RECAP

ASC Logo smallSIDE

From ASC CLOSE UP american-cinematographer-logo Vol 87(2006)

What’s The Best Professional Advice you’ve received?

JOHN SIMMONS, ASC

Lose the word ” Can’t” from your vocabulary.Carlton Moss taught me there is always a way to get it done.

WILLIAM A.FRAKER , ASC

The Best Advice I ‘ve ever been given was to extend myself. It’s a famous quote: ” A man’s reach should exceed his grasp.” All the tools, the technologies, are there for you to use, but you can’t assume they will tell your story.That’s up to cameraman, to use everything at his disposal to tell a story visually.

M. DAVID MULLEN, ASC

I was nervous about shooting my first feature, and luckily, I ran into Allen Daviau, ASC,who advised me to know my first week of production, what I needed to do, backwards and forwards. I discovered that being hyper-prepared like that not only boosted my confidence  but also set the right tone for the production. The crew quickly  realizes  that you know what you want  and are aware of how long things should take.

SOL NEGRIN , ASC

From Harry Stradling Sr.: ” Never be afraid to take a chance.It may be the thing you ever did .”

BILL BENNETT , ASC

“Never Pass up the opportunity to keep your mouth shout!” What they don’t tell you in cinematography training is that you job is 50 percent cinematography and 50 percent diplomacy, I’ve learned the hard way that when things go south, as they sometimes do, it’s best to pause and reflect on what’s happening and why before opening your mouth and blurting out what first comes to mind.No one remembers what you didn’t say, but they will certainly remember something you said in haste.

KEES VAN OOSTRUM , ASC

Always strive for perfection in every image you create, not so much technically but in terms of feeling that you have completely understood what you are trying to convey.

PHILIPPE ROUSSELOT , ASC

One Piece of advice I gave myself was not to follow any rules. Another for Jean Jacques Annaud, is, ” Always wear the appropriate shoes on set ”

STEVEN FIERBERG , ASC

When I was in collage, Nick Ray come to show his films, and I spent the whole night talking to him in the lobby rather than watching the films. As he left, he said, “Remember,it’s a way of life”

DAVID B. NOWELL , ASC

Always view your dailies. This May sound silly, but a lot of times, especially today, you never get the chance to see how a shot will look up on the big screen.

ERNEST DICKERSON , ASC

I’ve learned so much from reading AMERICAN CINEMATOGRAPHER, and the best professional advice I ever received was from an interview with Gordon Willis. In it,he stressed the importance of always having a point of view when approaching  a scene. It’s the first question I ask myself when I’m designing my coverage: What is the point of view,or whose? Once I’ve answered the question, everything falls into place much more ease.

KARL WALTER LINDENLAUB , ASC

Make Friends early so you have allies in this business. They are the ones who call you first.

CRAIG DiBONA , ASC

Early int my career, an old veteran told me, “The Industry is a lot of fun,but never forget it’s a business with a lot of money being spent every second. Don’t laugh your way out of your job,and if you stretch your arms out you can’t touch the camera, then you’re probably in the wrong place.” Good Words to remember.

To Be Continued… –つづく…

Leave a comment