VOL 88 ( 2007 ) FROM ASC CLOSE UP-BEST PROFESSIONAL ADVICE RECAP

ASC Logo smallSIDE

From ASC CLOSE UP american-cinematographer-logo Vol 88(2007)

What’s The Best Professional Advice you’ve received?

RON DEXTER, ASC

While I Worked in construction with my dad, he told me that if I gave customers more than they bargained for, they would return and never question the bill. I worked with some of the same commercial-agency clients for 30 years.

Feb. Vol 88#2 NOT AVAILABLE NOT EDITED ON THE ISSUE

HIRO NARITA, ASC

I Was invited to join the cinematographers shooting The Last Waltz , for which director Martin Scorsese prepared an elaborate shooting script for each camera position and every performer.David Myers, an accomplished and wise cameraman of much greater experience than I at the time, took me aside and whispered, ‘Go with your instincts.’ His advice stays with me even today.

VINCENT COX, ASC

‘There are never any problems,only solutions’

NANCY SCHREIBER, ASC

Never take rejection personally if you don’t get a job. There re so many cinematographers vying for so few jobs, and there are many forces at work that have nothing to do with one’s talent.

RICHARD P.CRUDO, ASC

Never give up. Always keep a positive attitude. Attention to detail.

DAVID STUMP, ASC

The thing that makes you a filmmaker is the act of making a film.

BILL ROE, ASC

Don’t be afraid to push yourself and trust yourself.

Sept. Vol 88#9 NOT AVAILABLE NOT EDITED ON THE ISSUE

JOHN BAILEY, ASC

Early in my carer, as an assistant doing commercials, I found myself sitting at the top of a Titan Crane next to the great Phil Lathrop, ASC waiting for the sun to set for a wide beauty shot of cars. He sat there patiently behind the lens. I learned toward him and said, ‘I’m just starting in the business and hope someday to be a cinematographer.What advice could you give me?’ He looked at me and so hard I felt like bailing off the crane.’Only one thing, kid,’ he said. ‘Sit down whenever you can’

JOHN HORA, ASC

‘It’s only a film, ‘which, coupled with ‘This too will pass,’ pretty much takes care of it.

CHRISTIAN SEBALDT, ASC

My Dad told me:’ Always be prepared, do your homework.’ I can only do my best if I know what a scene is about, what the purpose of every shot is, how it needs to advance the story and how it fits into the over-all editing puzzle.

To Be Continued… –つづく…

Leave a comment