VOL 91 ( 2010 ) FROM ASC CLOSE UP-BEST PROFESSIONAL ADVICE RECAP

ASC Logo smallSIDE

From ASC CLOSE UP american-cinematographer-logo Vol 91(2010)

What’s The Best Professional Advice you’ve received?

BILLY DICKSON, ASC

Stay true to Yourself. When Everything is crazy around you and you feel like you’re being forced into making all the compromises,do what is right for you and make the compromises you can live with.In the end,what people see on the screen is what they remember you by.

PAUL CAMERON, ASC

Invest in yourself, and if you ‘re not willing to risk everything,then don’t bother doing anything.

SALVATORE TOTINO, ASC

The Advice I got the first day I worked in the film business: Always be five minutes early to work, never five minutes late.But more importantly, live on the edge when it comes to your photography–Take risks.Put your ideas on film and fall down a few times; it will make you a great filmmaker.

RENE OHASHI, ASC,CSC

Have a clear vision, design and objective for every scene. Then, by lighting with your instincts along with your intention  and setting you own level of excellence, you will find satisfaction.

FRED ELMES, ASC

It’s the director movie.The Director is always right.

JOHN SCHWARTZMAN, ASC

From my grandfather, Carmine Coppola: What you do with your non-working time is more important than what you do with your working time.

THOMAS A. DEL RUTH, ASC

From Jordan Cronenweth: ‘Minimize compromise,be prepared for rejection, and save your money’

CHARLES MINSKY, ASC

I’m not sure it’s the best advice,but when I first began working as a camera assistant , Joe Ruttenberg, ASC lived next door.He took me into his house one day and showed me his two Academy Awards and told me to become an editor because they had more control on his art than he did.It did not deter me, but it made me aware that I wasn’t in complete control of the finished product.It’s a lesson I’m still learning.

DEJAN GEORGEVIC, ASC

Lee Rothberg’s Mantra :’ Keep Calm,Cool and collected at all times’

JIM DENAULT, ASC

From Tim Beiber: ‘ Show up early,don’t sit down,and act like you give a shit.’ It’s easy to remember and has far-reaching implications’

PHEDON PAPAMICHAEL , ASC

Roger Corman used to tell his young directors to sit down on an apple-box whenever they got an opportunity.I always try to pace myself through a long shoot;I see a lot of folks burn out before the film is done.

FRANK B.BYERS, ASC

From my agent: ‘Be the happiest guy on set.’ He was right

To Be Continued… –つづく…

Leave a Reply

